K'taka constitutes taskforce to prevent corona

K'taka constitutes taskforce to prevent corona

Bengaluru, Mar18 : Karnataka government has constituted a four member task force, led by Health minister B Sreeramulu to focus on the prevention of the dreaded disease COVID-19 in the state, Chief Minister B S Yediyurappa said on Wednesday.

Informing the Assembly after chairing an emergency Cabinet meeting here on Wednesday, Mr Yediyurappa said that the state government has also decided to release Rs 200 crore towards prevention of the spread of the COVID-19 disease in Karnataka.

Home minister Basavaraj Bommai and deputy Chief Minister Dr Ashwathnarayana are also the members of the task force. Meanwhile, the malls, cinemas, marriage halls and other public places will remain closed till March end.

"The entry of the public into the Vidhana Soudha also will be restricted and banned," he said. Opposition Congress leader, who welcomed government's initiative assured all cooperation in fighting the coronavirus in the state. The state government has made proper arrangements for screening foreign-returnees arriving at the airport along with the quarantine facilities. (UNI)

Last updated