Yediyurappa expands Cabinet

Yediyurappa expands Cabinet

Agency News

Bengaluru, Feb 6: Karnataka Chief Minister B S Yediyurappa expanded his six-month-old ministry by inducting 10 newly-elected MLAs, who had defected to the BJP last year by toppling the JDS-Congress coalition government, here on Thursday.

Karnataka Governor Vajubhai Wala administered the oath of office to the MLAs, at a glittering swearing-in ceremony, which took place at Raj Bhavan. The ten MLAs are Bhyrathi Basavaraj, S T Somashekhar, K Gopalaiah, Ramesh Jarakiholi, Anand Singh, Shivram Hebbar, K Narayanagowda, B C Patil, Dr K Sudhakar and Shrimantha Balasaheb Patil. The Chief Minister, several Cabinet ministers, including Home Minister Basavaraj Bommai, PWD Minister Govind Karajo BJP MLAs, Karnataka Chief Secretary Vijayabhaskar, senior Police officers were among those present on the occasion.

With the induction of ten new ministers, the strength of the Yediyurappa cabinet rose to 27 and six more cabinet berths remained vacant. According to official sources, Mr. Yediyurappa had planned to induct as many as 13 MLAs, in today's expansion. However, he changed his mind at the last minute as several other MLAs, who were loyal to the party for years, had brought pressure on him, to take them into the cabinet. (UNI)