K’taka: 16 disqualified MLAs join BJP

K’taka: 16 disqualified MLAs join BJP

Agency News

Bengaluru, Nov 14 : Barring one,16 former MLAs, including former JD(S) State president, H Vishwanath, who were disqualified by the Assembly speaker Ramesh Kumar, joined BJP here on Friday.

Chief Minister B S Yediyurappa exhorted the party workers to work hard and ensure the victory for BJP candidates in the by elections.

Assuring the former MLAs, who were responsible for the BJP to come to power in Karnataka by sacrificing their Assembly seats, would get the party tickets, Chief minister said that ''We will not let down you and extend all co-operation for your win in the bypoll''.

Senior BJP leaders including Deputy Chief minister C N Ashwathnarayan, Govind Karajol, State BJP chief Nalin Kumar Kateel, were present and presented the party flag to the former MLAs.

Former minister and another disqualified MLAs, Roshan Baig, was however not present on the occasion, as there was no unanimity in the state BJP leaders to take him into the party fold.

Baig, who was keen to get re-elected from his traditional Shivajinagar Assembly constituency, had met Chief minister B S Yediyurappa, twice and pleaded for the party ticket.

The other former MLAs, who joined the party were, Ramesh Jarakiholi, Mahesh Kumatalli, Srimanth Patil, Shivaraj Hebbar, B C Patil, Anand Singh, Dr Sudhakar, Bhyrathi Basvaraj, S t Somashekhar, Munirathna, K Gopalaiah, K C Narayana Gowda and R Shankar.

Addressing the party workers, after joining the Saffron party, former JDS state president H Vishwanath, has said that all those who had joined the BJP, were part of the ''political polarisation'' which was being witnessing all across the country.

''We have not sacrificed our assembly seats seeking any political powers'', he added. (UNI)