K’taka BJP chief hints at tickets to disqualified MLAs in Dec 5 byelection

K’taka BJP chief hints at tickets to disqualified MLAs in Dec 5 byelection

Agency News

Bengaluru, Oct 27 :  Despite opposition by the leaders, the Karnataka State BJP top brass hinted that disqualified MLAs would be fielded in the forthcoming Assembly by-election.

In Hubballi, BJP leaders including Chief Minister B S Yediyurappa and State President Nalin Kumar Kateel, are holding a series of closed-door meetings at a private hotel and discussed preparations for by-elections for Assembly constituencies of disqualified MLAs in North Karnataka region also and also about election due to Upper House next year.

Party sources on Sunday said that the Chief Minister asked party leaders to work for the victory of candidates to be fielded. The party will finalise the names of the candidates after the verdict from Supreme Court before whom their disqualification case is pending for verdict.

BJP leaders from Gokak, Athani, Kagwad, Hirekerur, Yellapur, Vijayanagar, Maski and Ranebennur constituencies are attending the meeting. It was stated that by November 4 the appointed assembly in charges of the 15 assembly constituencies would conduct meetings in their respective constituencies and would collect ground report.
"BJP leaders aspiring for the party ticket in Assembly by-elections are likely to be pacified in this meeting, as the party may give a ticket to some disqualified MLAs. Those who expressed discontent for being offered chairmanship of boards and corporations, but wanted to contest in by-elections, would also be convinced, to abide by the party's decision," sources said.

Deputy Chief Minister Laxman Savadi, who hails from Athani constituency in Belagavi District, lost the election to disqualified Legislature Mahesh Kumatalli and now the party is in confused state as whether ticket should be given to Savadi or Kumatalli. Savadi was selected to the DCM post by BJP National President Amit Shah though he was not a member of both Houses in the Legislature.

Union Minister Pralhad Joshi, Dy CMs Govind Karjol, Laxman Savadi, ministers Jagadish Shettar, Basavaraj Bommai, C C Patil, and others attended the meetings.