BJP Mayor for Bengaluru

BJP Mayor for Bengaluru


The BJP's Mr. Gautam Kumar was elected the mayor of Bengaluru on Tuesday in the latest fallout of the collapse of the Congress-Janata Dal Secular (JDS) government in Karnataka earlier this year. Mr. Kumar defeated the Congress candidate by 17 votes.

The elections began just before noon at the city corporation headquarters, and the results were declared around 1 pm. Besides councillors, MPs, MLAs and MLCs who represent seats in the Bengaluru city limits were eligible to cast their votes.

A coalition of the Congress and the Janata Dal Secular had held on to the posts of mayor and deputy mayor for the last four years through a corporation-level alliance that pre-dates the wider one formed between the two parties after the 2018 assembly elections.

Due to this agreement, the BJP was unable to gain control of the corporation despite commanding greater numbers than either opposition party.