Vishveshwara Hegde Kageri is the new Speaker of Karnataka

Vishveshwara Hegde Kageri is the new Speaker of Karnataka

Agency News

Bengaluru, Jul 31:Six-time MLA and senior Bharatiya Janata Party leader Vishveshwar Hegde Kageri was unanimously elected as the new Speaker of the Karnataka Legislative Assembly here on Wednesday.

The name of the Kageri to the Speaker’s post was proposed by the Chief minister B S Yediyurappa and seconded by the BJP member Basvaraj Bommai.

The Opposition Congress and the JD(S) did not put up any candidate for the post, paving the way for the unanimous election. Deputy Speaker Krishna Reddy put the proposal of Kageri’s candidature to vote in the house and it was passed without any opposition.

Chief Minister B S Yediyurappa and the Opposition leader and Congress member Siddaramaiah led Kageri to the Speaker’s Chair.

Later speaking on the election Chief minister B S Yediyurappa said Kageri, one of the senior most BJP MLAs, brings his rich experience to the post.

Siddaramaiah, who also welcomed the Election of Kageri as the new Speaker, expected that he (Kageri) will run the house without any party affiliation.

Former Speaker K Ramesh Kumar, BJP leaders K S Eshwarappa, Former Chief minister Jagadish Shettar, JD(S) member K Kumaraswamy also spoke on the new speaker, and promised to extend all co-operation in the running the house smoothly. (UNI)