Congress expels 14 Karnataka rebel MLAs from party

Congress expels 14 Karnataka rebel MLAs from party

Agency News

Bengaluru, Jul 31: The Congress party on Tuesday expelled 14 rebel MLAs who became the sole reason for fall of Congress-Janata Dal (S) coalition government in the state of Karnataka.These 14 rebel MLAs remained absent during the recent trust vote in the Karnataka Vidhan Sabha last week -- forcing the erstwhile chief minister HD Kumaraswamy to tender his resignation.They had violated the party whip, due to which the then Assembly Speaker K R Ramesh Kumar disqualified them from the membership of the house.Congress General Secretary and Karnataka's in-charge KC Venugopal said in a statement issued here tonight that All India Congress Committee has approved the proposal of the Karnataka Pradesh Congress President to expel 14 former MLAs from the party due to their involvement in anti-party activities.

The expelled leaders are Mahesh I Kumatlli, Smt B Patil, Ramesh Jarkiholi, Pratap Gowda Patil, Shivram Mahabaleshwar Heber, B C Patil, R Shankar, Anand Singh, K Sudhakar, B A Basavraj, S T Somashekhar, Muniratna, R. Roshan Beg and M T B Nagraj.These 14 leaders had already resigned from the membership of the House, just a few days before the vote of confidence motion was presented in the assembly, however the speaker did not accept their resignation, to which the rebel MLAs knocked the doors of Supreme Court.The Apex Court had then left the decision of resignation on speaker.UNI