BJP to stake claim in Karnataka

BJP to stake claim in Karnataka

Agency News

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) will elect its state president, Mr. BS Yeddyurappa, as its legislative party leader and stake claim to form the next government in Karnataka, a day after Mr. HD Kumaraswamy tendered his resignation as Chief Minister after a 14-month stint.

As per the BJP spokesman, Mr. G Madhusudan, all 105 party MLAs will meet later today at the party office to 'unanimously elect Mr. Yeddyurappa as the BJP's legislature party leader and meet the state Governor, Mr. Vajubhai Vala, to stake claim to form the new government.'

He added that if required, 'Mr. Yeddyurappa will go to Delhi for appraising the party's leadership, including national president, Mr. Amit Shah and its working president, Mr. JP Nadda on the political situation in the state and the party's prospects in forming a stable government at the earliest.'

Mr. Kumaraswamy, the head of the Janata Dal (Secular)-Congress coalition, had on July 18 moved the confidence motion to prove majority, but lost the trust vote in the 225-member Assembly by six votes. Moved by Mr. Kumaraswamy (59), the confidence motion got 99 votes as against 105 of the Opposition, ending the three-week-long drama in Karnataka. Mr. Kumaraswamy required 103 votes to win the trust vote.

'I hereby tender my resignation as the Chief Minister of Karnataka along with my cabinet and request you to accept the same,' Mr. Kumaraswamy mentioned in the letter to the Governor. The governor accepted Kumaraswamy’s resignation but asked him to continue as the caretaker CM till alternative arrangements are made.

"It is needless to state that no executive decisions be taken during the period," the governor responded to Kumaraswamy. Meanwhile, the BJP leaders will meet the governor today and stake claim to form the next government in Karnataka.