Trust vote will be held today, K’taka Assy Speaker tells CM, Oppn

Trust vote will be held today, K’taka Assy Speaker tells CM, Oppn

Agency News

Bengaluru, July 22 : The fate of the JD(S)-Congress government in Karnataka, which is facing crisis for survival, is likely to be sealed today.Legislative Assembly Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar informed Chief Minister H D Kumaraswamy and opposition leader B S Yeddyurappa that he will take up voting on the Confidence motion moved by the CM on Monday itself.

In a communication to the two leaders of the House, Mr Kumar said that he was committed to ensure that the trust vote was held today as he had promised on Friday. He will ensure that the debate on Confidence Motion will be completed by today and fulfill his promise.

On July 18, the chief minister had moved the Confidence Motion but the voting was delayed after more than 23 members had asked time to participate in the debate and the Speaker had agreed to it.

However, it was delayed due to prolonged speeches on the floor of the house and a point of order raised by Congress floor leader Siddaramaiah over the question whether the Supreme Court in its interim order had stated that the 15 dissident MLAs who had quit their seats, should not be forced to participate in the session. There was confusion over issuing of Whip to the rebel MLAs by the respective parties, as per the Supreme Court order.

In all 15 MLAs--12 from Indian National Congress and three from JD(S)-- had submitted their resignation letters to the Speaker citing personal reasons that had put the ruling coalition into minority status.

BJP had been pressurising the Speaker to take up the trust vote at the earliest while the ruling combine tried to prolong the process, despite two letters written by Governor Vajubhai R Vala to complete the process that ended on Friday.

Currently, in the 225-member house, the BJP has strength of 105 MLAs of its own and the two Independents, who withdrew their support to the coalition government even after they were made ministers, at the height of the political crisis.

Indian National Congress has 67 members and JD(S) 34, excluding the rebels. The other two members are, one from the BSP and a nominated member. The nominated member has voting right in case the Assembly takes up trust vote. Resignation of 15 dissident MLAs is yet to be accepted by the Speaker.(UNI)