LS Polls: Congress fields three Legislators in Karnataka

LS Polls: Congress fields three Legislators in Karnataka

Agency News

Bengaluru, Mar 24 : The Congress party in Karnataka had fielded as many as three Legislators, including two MLAs and one MLC, to fight the Lok Sabha elections slated to be held in two phases on April 18 and 23.

The Congress party's Central Election Committee, which released the list of candidates on Saturday has named Shamanur Shivashankarappa for Davanagere Lok Sabha seat, KPCC Working President Eshwar Khandre (Bidar) both MLAs, and Rizwan Arshad, MLC for the Bengaluru Central Parliamentary constituencies.

The Congress, which has clinched a pre-poll alliance with JDS, its coalition partner in the Government, has agreed to contest in 20 of the 28 LS seats and has re-nominated nine sitting MPs, while denied ticket to Mudduhanumae Gowda a sitting member from Tumakuru Lok Sabha seat. The Congress list has not included Women candidates despite there was a huge demand to accommodate one or two women.

The party had conceded its Tumakuru Lok Sabha seat to its coalition partner JD(S) where the former Prime Minister H D Devegowda have decided to contest. This has paved way for raise of rebel in the Congress as sitting MP Muddu Hanumegowda has announced that he will file his nomination on Mar 25 for retaining the seat with a hope that JDS will consider to give the seat to Congress.

March 26 is the last date for filing nomination, scrutiny will be held on the next day and March 29 is the last date for withdrawal.