Karnataka: Cong relaxes on Tumkur demand, contest in 20 seats, JD(S) in 8

Karnataka: Cong relaxes on Tumkur demand, contest in 20 seats, JD(S) in 8

Agency News

New Delhi, Mar 14: While discussions on seat sharing between Congress and its allies encountered blocks in other states like Bihar, the grand-old party and Janata Dal (Secular), however, flexed their muscles in Karnataka.

As agreed between the two parties, the Congress will contest in 20 seats and the JD(S) in eight seats, including Tumkur, for which the latter bargained heavily. According to AICC general secretary in-charge of organisation and Karnataka, KC Venugopal, Congress will contest in Chikkodi, Belagavi, Bagalkot, Kalaburgi, Raichur, Bidar, Koppal, Bellary, Haveri, Dharwad, Davanagere, Dakshina Kannada, Chitradurga, Mysore, Chamarajanagar, Banglore Rural,, Bangalore Central, Banglore South, Chikkaballapur and Kolar.

The JD(S) will contest in Hassan, Mandya, Shimoga, Udupi Chikamagalur, Banglore North, Uttara Kannada, Bijapur and Tumkur.“Following the earlier two rounds discussions held in Bengaluru, Congress president Rahul Gandhi and JD(S) president HD Deve Gowda met in Delhi and had a discussion in detail”, said Mr Venugopal.

On Wednesday night, Mr Venugopal and JD(S) leader Danish Ali finalised the list in the presence of Congress president. On March 5, Mr Gandhi visited the former prime minister at his official residence in national capital to discuss on seat sharing, as state leaders of both the parties were adamant in their demand.

While the Congress maintained that it was willing to give six seats to JD(S), Gowda-led party demanded ten seats, including Tumkur and Chikkaballapur, which are Congress seats.

According to JD(S) sources, the octogenarian politician wants to contest either from Tumkur or Chikkaballapur as he plans to field his grandchildren, Prajwal Revanna and Nikhil Gowda, in his constituency Hassan and party’s strong hold Mandya.

Finally, the deal ended with the Congress giving eight seats, including Tumkur to the JD(S), its ally in Karnataka. In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, BJP won 17 seats, Congress nine and JD(S) two seats. However, Congress has won in the by-election and bagged one more seats from BJP’s kitty. UNI