In Karnataka, it may be 19-9 seat-sharing between JD(S) and Congress

In Karnataka, it may be 19-9 seat-sharing between JD(S) and Congress

Agency News

Congress president Rahul Gandhi and JD(S) supremo H D Deve Gowda met and discussed to finalise seat sharing for the Lok Sabha polls, in New Delhi on Wednesday. Though JD(S) is demanding 12 of 28 LS seats in the state, it is said mostly a 19-9 seat-sharing deal may have been clinched between the Congress and Janata Dal (S) in Karnataka.

In a last minute deal, JD(S) supremo argued for his party's claim to at least 10. But it is learnt that Rahul Gandhi was adamant on allowing only nine seats to JD(S). In Delhi discussions, AICC general secretary in-charge of Karnataka affairs, K C Venugopal and national general secretary of the JD(S), Danish Ali were also participated.

Mr Gowda is learnt to have demanded Mysuru, Mandya, Hassan, Bengaluru North, Tumakuru, Chikballapura, Chitradurga, Shivamogga, Vijayapura and Uttara Kannada for the JD(S). Although the Congress had won from Chikballapura and Tumakuru in the 2014 Lok Sabha poll, Mr Gowda reportedly argued that his party was capable of winning both seats in these elections.

Mr Gandhi is said to have given a patient hearing to Mr Gowda and promised to get back to him in a week. He is likely to consult the state Congress leaders on the JD(S) demand and discuss the winning chances of that party at his Haveri rally on March 9, sources revealed.

Former CM Siddaramaiah, Deputy CM, Dr G Parameshwar and Mr Venugopal also remained firm on retaining Chikkaballapura and Tumakuru represented by Congress MPs, M Veerappa Moily and Muddu Hanumegowda, who had won from these constituencies in 2014 despite the Modi wave across the country.