LS Election: all the sitting Congress MPs likely to get party ticket

LS Election: all the sitting Congress MPs likely to get party ticket

Agency News

Bengaluru, Man 7: All the ten sitting Congress Lok Sabha members from Karnataka, including former Union Ministers M Veerappa Moily (Chikkaballapura) and K H Muniyappa (Kolar) are likely to be re-nominated by the party for the 2019-Lok sabha elections.

The Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee (KPCC)’s election committee which met here on Thursday, have reportedly taken decision to give tickets to all the sitting MPs, for the coming Lok Sabha elections.

The Constituencies, the Congress had won included Ballari (V S Ugrappa), Kalaburaga (Mallikarjuna Kharge), Chikkaballapura (Veerappa Moily), Kokar (K H Muniyappa), Raichur (B V Nayak), Chitradurga (Chandrappa), Bengaluru rural (D K Suresh), Chikkodi (Prakash Hukkeri) and Tumakuru (Mudduhanumegowda).

Senior leaders, who attended the meeting, reportedly argued in favor of re-nominating all the sitting Lok Sabha members. However the coalition partner, JD(S) is reportedly insisting for Chikkaballapura and Tumakuru seats, where Congress has its MPs.

Apart from this the JD(S) is also staking its claim to contest from Hassan, Mandya, Bengaluru North, Mysuru, Shivamogga, Vijayapura and Bidar Lok Sabha seats.

A final decision is likely to be taken on seat sharing arrangements between two coalition parties, in a day or two, the party sources said.

The Committee, chaired by the KPCC President Dinesh Gundurao, Working President Eshwar Khandre, KPCC’s Campaign Committee Chairman, H K Patil, Deputy Chief Minister Dr G Parameshwara and former Chief Minister Siddaramaiah, are among the senior leaders, had participated in the meeting.

According to party sources, the Committee, had reviewed several probable names to shortlist for the 18 Lok Sabha seats, where the party has no MPs, which Rajya Sabha member B K Hariprasad, former Lok Sabha member H T Sangliana, former Ministers, Ramesh Jarkiholi, Roshan Baig, CM Ibrahimm, Vinay Kulkarni, C H Vijayashankar and others. (UNI)