Congress-JDS maintain lead; narrow advantage for BJP in Shivamogga

Congress-JDS maintain lead; narrow advantage for BJP in Shivamogga

Agency News

The counting of votes for Jamkhandi and Ramanagara assembly seats and Shivamogga, Ballari and Mandya Lok Sabha seats, which went to polls on Saturday, has begun on Tuesday morning. After few rounds of counting, Congress-JD(S) coalition has maintained lead in three constituencies, while BJP has a thin advantage at Shivamogga constituency where BJP Chief Yeddyurappa’s son in the fray.

JDS leads in Mandya; Congress leads in Ballari and Jamkhandi

JDS Candidate Shivrame Gowda leads in Mandya by over 40,000 votes. The Congress is now leading in 2 seats (Ballari and Jamkhandi) while the JDS is leading in Ramanagaram. Early trends suggest the BJP has a massive fight on its hands as it is trailing in 3 out of 5 seats that went to polls.

BJP leads in Shivamogga

Presently, Shivamogga is the BJP's only saving grace as BY Raghavendra leads by a small margin of around 6000 votes.

An estimated 67 per cent voter turnout was recorded in the bypolls for the five constituenciesThe Karnataka bypolls is seen a crucial test for the ruling Congress-JD(S) coalition for two reasons: one, it is their first test since coming together five months ago and two, it is a prelude to the 2019 Lok Sabha election

Kumarawamy’s wife Anitha Kumaraswamy polls 10, 241 votes

JDS candidate and wife of Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy, Anitha, has polled 10,241 votes. The contest in Ramanagaram is largely on paper as the trailing candidate, L Chandrashekar of the BJP, had retired from the contest and joined the Congress. He has polled 1811 votes so far out of 28 booths in 2 rounds of voting.

Ballari: Congress' Ugrappa leads

Congress candidate VS Ugrappa's lead over J Shanta of the BJP grows to 31138. Ugrappa after two rounds of counting in 224 out of 1901 booths, has 74668 votes compared to 43530 for Shanta. Around 875 votes have been cast under the 'NOTA' option.

Jamkhandi: Congress 10,882

After the completion of the second round of counting, Congress takes a lead of 3,785 votes against BJP.