Karnataka By-election: Nomination filing begins today

Karnataka By-election: Nomination filing begins today

Agency News

Bengaluru, Oct 9: Filing of nomination papers opened for November 3 by-election to three Lok Sabha and two Karnataka Legislative Assembly seats on Tuesday, amid Political parties expressing their displeasure over timing of the Lok Sabha by-polls since general elections are due within next 6 months.

Notification was issued today by respective District Deputy Commissioners who would also act as Returning Officers. Nominations will be accepted till October 16 and scrutiny of nominations will be held the next day. Last date for withdrawal of nominations is October 20.

While the by-election to 3 Lok Sabha seats --Ballari, Mandya and Shivamogga which was caused due to resignation of Mr B S Yeddyurappa (Shivamogga), Sriramulu (Ballari) (both BJP) and S Puttaraju (Mandya) (JD-S) on getting elected to the State Assembly, the election to 2 Assembly seats was necessitated following resignation of JD-S leader H D Kumaraswamy (Ramanagaram) on being elected to from Channapatna also and Jamakhandi segment following death of sitting Congress candidate Mr Siddu Nyamegouda in a road mishap. (UNI)