Defection of 6 MLAs in Jharkhand: Speaker court rules in their favour, set back to Babulal Marandi

Defection of 6 MLAs in Jharkhand: Speaker court rules in their favour, set back to Babulal Marandi

Agency News

Ranchi, Feb 20: It took a total of four years and 8 days for Jharkhand Assembly Speaker Dinesh Oraon to rule in favour of the six MLAs who had joined the BJP after the assembly elections of 2014 after winning of Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantrik) ticket thus dealing a major set back to Babulal Marandi who had filed petition before the speaker's court seeking their disqualification citing violation of 10th schedule of the constitution.

In packed room at the Speaker's Court Mr Oraon rejected the petition filed by Mr Marandi and JVM(P) MLA Pradeep Yadav who had demanded that membership of the house of these MLAs be cancelled.

The speaker in his verdict said that he had listened to the arguments of both the sides who have tried to put forward their views in the best possible way. Moreover he had scheduled the hearing in the open court but after listening to the both sides he has come to conclude that the merger was valid and therefore the petitions of Babulal Marandi and Pradeep Yadav stands cancelled.

The six MLAs whose fate hung by the sword earlier during the day included Hatia MLA Naveen Jaiswal, Agriculture Minister and Sarath MLA Randhir Singh, Daltonganj MLA Alok Chourasiya, Simariya MLA Ganesh Ganjhu, Barkatha MLA Janki Yadav and Sports and Tourism Minister and Chandankiyari MLA Amar Kumar Bauri.

A total of 8 MLAs had won on the JVM(P) ticket during the assembly elections of 2014 and out of these 6 had written a letter to the Speaker on February 9, 2015 demanding that they should be allowed to sit separately from the JVM(P) MLAs after which party supremo Babulal Marandi and leader of legislature wing of the JVM(P) Pradeep Yadav had in written demanded for cancellation of the membership of these MLAs as per the anti-defection law.

The hearing in the Speaker's court over this case commenced from February 12, 2015 and the final hearing was held on December 12, 2018 as on that day the speaker had kept his order reserved in the case.

In a total of 64 days the hearing of the case was held in the court during which the six MLAs had presented a total of 54 witnesses in their favour and had claimed that by 2/3rd majority the JVM(P) had been merged into the BJP. (UNI)