Congress wins Kolibera bypolls by 9658 votes

Congress wins Kolibera bypolls by 9658 votes

Agency News

Simdega, Dec 23: In a major shot in the arm to the fortunes of the Congress party in Jharkhand it managed to win the bypolls to the Kolibera seat of Jharkhand Assembly by a margin of 9658 votes and wrests the seat from Jharkhand Party.

Congress party nominee Naman Vixcel Kongadi polled a total of 40343 votes to defeat his nearest rival Basant Soreng of the BJP by 9658 votes. Soreng got 30685 votes.

At the end of the 20 rounds of counting third position was bagged by Anil Kandulna of the Rashtriya Sangail Party who secured 23,799 votes while Menan Ekka of the Jharkhand party who was supposed to in the race stood a distant fourth position with having secured 16445 votes. Independent Basant Dungdyn got 3948 votes while NOTA was exercised by 3694 voters.

The bypolls for the seat was held on December 20 in which 64.08 per cent voters had turned up to cast their votes.

The by-polls to the seat was necessitated after Kolibera MLA and former Minister lost the membership of the house after a Simdega court on July 3 awarded him life imprisonment in connection with the murder of a para teacher Manoj Kumar. The new MLA elected from the seat will have tenure of just one year as Vidhan Sabha polls are due in Jharkhand in November-December 2019.

This was for the second time after a gap of 33 years that the by-polls are being held in Kolibera. It was in the year 1984 that following the demise of sitting Kolibera MLA Sushil Kumar the by-polls were held. (UNI)