Kashmir to free 3 leaders
Jammu & Kashmir

Kashmir to free 3 leaders


The government will begin the process of releasing political leaders from detention in Kashmir. As a part of the procedure which involves releasing political leaders in a phased manner, three leaders will be released on Thursday. Former People's Democratic Party (PDP) MLA,  Yawar Mir, National Conference (NC) leader Noor Mohammed and Shoaib Lone of Congress will be released today.

The decision comes on a condition that they will sign bonds saying they will not disturb peace and law and order in the Valley. Earlier, on September 21, Governor  Satya Pal Malik released Imran Ansari of the People's Conference and Syed Akhoon of JKNC on health grounds.

Over a thousand people, including mainstream political leaders, were detained after the government decided to abrogate Article 370 on August 5.

While telephone lines have been restored across the state, mobile and internet services remain suspended in the Valley. Three former chief ministers - Farooq Abdullah,  Omar Abdullah and Mehbooba Mufti  - were among the leaders detained while 250 others were sent out of the State. Farooq Abdullah was detained under the Public Safety Act.