Nineteen new members elected to ECOSOC

Nineteen new members elected to ECOSOC

Agency News

United Nations, Jun 15 : The UN General Assembly has elected 19 new members to the Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC), one of the six main organs of the United Nations, which is mandated with tackling issues related to sustainable development, from an economic, social and environmental perspective.
The Council's 54 members are elected for overlapping three-year terms. Seats on the Council are allotted based on geographical representation with 14 allocated to African States, 11 to Asian States, six to Eastern European States, 10 to Latin American and Caribbean States, and 13 to Western European and other States.
The 18 newly elected members to take up functions on 1 January 2020 are:
Benin, Botswana, The Congo and Gabon for Africa.
Bangladesh, China, South Korea and Thailand, for the Asia-Pacific region.
Latvia, Montenegro and Russia, for the Eastern European region.
Colombia, Nicaragua and Panama, for Latin America and the Caribbean.
Australia, Finland, Norway and Switzerland, for Western Europe and other States.
In addition, Spain was elected to take over Turkey’s seat at the end of this year for just a one-year term. (UNI)