BJP's Indu Bala elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha from HP
Himachal Pradesh

BJP's Indu Bala elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha from HP

Agency News

Shimla, Mar 18: BJP candidate Indu Bala was elected unopposed here on Wednesday to the Rajya Sabha seat from Himachal Pradesh. Ms Bala was offered the certificate of her election for the Upper House seat at Himachal Pradesh Vidhan Sabha by the Returning Officer and Secretary of the Vidhan Sabha Yashpal Sharma at 1500 hrs today. She was the lone candidate to file her nomination on March 13 as Congress opted out of the contest.

The ruling BJP has a total of 44 MLAs in the 68-member Himachal Pradesh Assembly. Two independent MLAs are also supporting the BJP. Elections to 55 Rajya Sabha seats will be held on March 26 with a number of the contestants set to get elected unopposed. She would replace Congress's Viplove Thakur, a Rajya Sabha MP from the state scheduled to complete her six years term next month. One of the three Rajya Sabha seats from the state will fall vacant as Vipolve Thakur of the Congress is set to retire from the Upper House on April 9. Indu Bala also known as Goswami would be the ninth women Member of Parliament (MP) from the hill state.

She is the former state president of BJP Mahila Morcha and has also tried her hands in the 2017 Assembly elections from Palampur segment in which she lost to Congress's Ashish Butail in a triangular contest.

The other two Rajya Sabha seats from this hills state being represented by BJP national president JP Nadda and Congress leader Anand Sharma. (UNI)