Haryana CM will contest from Karnal

Haryana CM will contest from Karnal

Agency News

New Delhi, Sep 30 : In the first list of candidates for the fast approaching Haryana polls announced on Monday, the BJP has decided to field Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar from Karnal while renowned female wrestler Babita Phogat will be the party nominee from Dadri.

Making the announcement of the candidates' names, BJP general secretary Arun Singh said former hockey captain of the national squad Sardar Sandeep Singh will try his electoral luck from Pehowa while Olympic medalist Yogeshwar Dutt, who joined the saffron party on Thursday, will contest from Baroda, which is his home district.
BJP state unit chief Subhash Barala will be the party nominee from Tohana while senior state Minister Anil Viz will be party nominee from Ambala Cantonment.

Former Akali leader Balkaur Singh, who too had joined BJP on Thursday, will contest from Kalanwali (Reserved) seat. Among the women candidates Santosh Danoda will be saffron party's candidate from Narwana - reserved seat. Under former Hockey captain Sandeep Singh, the Indian team had managed to clinch the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup in 2009 after defeating Malaysia in the finals at Ipoh. Singh was also the top goal scorer of the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup tournament.

At the 2012 Summer Olympics, Yogeshwar Dutt won the bronze medal in the 60 kg category. He was awarded the Padma Shri by the Government in 2013. Dutt also won a gold medal at the 2014 Commonwealth Games. The BJP is in power in Haryana for the past five years. The Haryana state Assembly elections are slated for October 21 and the counting of votes will take place on October 24. UNI