5 Gujarat MLAs resign ahead of Rajya Sabha election

5 Gujarat MLAs resign ahead of Rajya Sabha election

Agency News

Five Gujarat Congress MLAs resigned on Sunday despite the party shifting its state MLAs to Jaipur ahead of the crucial Rajya Sabha election on March 26.

At first four Congress MLAs submitted their resignations with the Gujarat assembly Speaker on Sunday just days ahead of the Rajya Sabha election. Later, MLA Praveen Maroo confirmed that he has also resigned, taking the total number of resignations to five.

While Congress took the first batch of 14 MLAs to Jaipur on Saturday, the 4 MLAs were missing. Now they have resigned. MLAs JV Kakdia and Somabhai Patel are among the four who have resigned.

However, Gujarat Congress MLA Virjibhai Thummar denied the resignation reports. The Gujarat Congress started shifting its MLAs out of the state amid fears of horse-trading ahead of the Rajya Sabha elections. Another batch of 20-22 party MLAs is likely to reach the Rajasthan capital on Sunday evening.

In the 182-seat Gujarat Assembly, BJP has 103 seats, Congress 73, while two seats are with Bharatiya Tribal party and the Nationalist Congress Party has one. There is one Independent legislator as well.

The Congress decided to shift its MLAs, even when the Assembly session is underway, after the BJP fielded three candidates though it can win only two seats out of four as per its strength in the Assembly. Two candidates from Congress have filed their nomination papers.