Counting of bypolls in Gujarat tomorrow

Counting of bypolls in Gujarat tomorrow

Agency News

Gandhinagar, Oct 23 : Counting of votes for Assembly bypolls on the six seats in Gujarat, the home state of Prime Minister Narendra Modi that had seen 53.69% average turnout on October 21, will be held tomorrow from 8 am at six counting centers amid stepped-up security.

Fate of 42 candidates on these seats including that of former national secretary and Bihar co-in-charge of Indian National Congress Alpesh Thakor, who switched over to ruling Bharatiya Janata Party, are at stake.

Chief Electoral Officer of Gujarat S Murali Krishna said that three-layered security arrangements have been made near counting centers where Central Armed Police Forces would also be deployed. Over 600 staffers would be involved in the counting process. Subsequently, the Voter Verified Paper Audit Trail slips of randomly selected five booths in each of the six constituencies would also be counted.

The voter turnout figures of the six seats is as follows -
Tharad- 68.93% (2017 turnout 86.06%)
Radhanpur 62.91% (2017 turnout 68.51%)
Kheralu 46.19% (2017 turnout 71.86%)
Bayad 61.05% (2017 turnout 70.71%)
Amraiwadi 34.69% (2017 turnout 63.97%)
Lunawada 51.24% (2017 turnout 67.13%)