Cong announces candidates for Radhanpur, Kheralu bypolls

Cong announces candidates for Radhanpur, Kheralu bypolls

Agency News

New Delhi, Sep 30 : Congress on Monday announced candidates for assembly by-elections for two seats in Gujarat.

"The Congress president Sonia Gandhi has approved the proposal for the candidature of Raghubhai Desai for Radhanpur and Thakor Babuji Ujamji for Kheralu as party candidates to contest by-elections to the Legislative Assembly of Gujarat,'' said AICC general secretary Mukul Wasnik in a press release.

Bypolls to these seats scheduled to be held on October 21, along with Assembly elections in Haryana and Maharashtra and the results will be announced on October 24.

Radhanpur assembly constituency became vacant after the Congress MLA Alpesh Thakor resigned and joined BJP.

On Sunday, the BJP had announced Mr Thakor as the candidate for Radhanpur assembly by-election. By-election necessitated in Kheralu, because of the BJP MLA Dabhi Bharatsinhji Shankarji was elected to the Lok Sabha.(UNI)