Foundation stone for Parrikar memorial to be laid on Dec 13: Goa CM

Foundation stone for Parrikar memorial to be laid on Dec 13: Goa CM

Agency News

Panaji, Sep 11: Goa Chief Minister Pramod Sawant has said that foundation stone for the construction of memorial of former Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar will be laid on December 13, 2019.

Speaking to reporters at the state secretariat on Tuesday, the Chief Minister said the project having budget of Rs ten crore would be completed in six months.

Dr Sawant chaired a meeting held to select architectural firm for design late Manohar Parikar Smriti Sthal at Miramar.

The meeting was also attended by the members of Jury committee which was held at Ministerial Block, Secretariat, Porvorim. The design of UCJ Architecture and Environment was selected for the Smriti Sthal. The work of Smriti Sthal would be executed under the Goa State Infrastructure Development Corporation (GSIDC).

The members of Jury Committee comprises Chief Minister Pramod Sawant as Chairman and other members of the committee include MLA and Vice Chairman of GSIDC Joshua P de Souza, Principal of Goa College of Architecture Dr Ashish K Rege, Principal of Goa College of Art Mahesh Vengurlekar, Chief Town Planner James Mathew and Darpana Athale, External Architect Expert.

It was informed that seventeen bids were received by GSIDC and after initial round five were selected to make presentation before jury members, out of which four firms made their presentation before jury which includes M/s Hiten Sethi Associates, M/s Lokus Design Pvt Ltd, M/s Rahul Deshpande and Associates, and M/s UCJ Architecture and Environment.

GSIDC Managing Director Srinet Kothwale and GSIDC General Manager Sandip Prabhu Chodnekar also attended the meeting, a statement from the government said.

Parrikar, former Chief Minister of the State, had passed away on March 17 this year at the age of 63. His final rites were performed at Miramar Beach located near the city. December 13 is the birth anniversary of Late Manohar Parrikar. (UNI)