BJP sails through Goa floor test

BJP sails through Goa floor test


Goa Chief Minister Pramod Sawant has won a floor test on Wednesday. 20 lawmakers voted in favour of Pramod Sawant-led BJP Govt, whereas 15 voted against.

While 11 BJP, three Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party, three Goa Forward Party, and three independents supported the Chief Minister, 14 Congress lawmakers and an NCP MLA opposed him. Before the test, the BJP had claimed support of 21 legislators.

The strength of the 40-member house was reduced to 36 after the death of two lawmakers and the resignation of two Congress lawmakers.

As part of the recalibrated coalition after Manohar Parrikar - a popular chief minister who had the unstinted support of allies - there will be two deputy chief ministers in the tiny seaside state. MGP leader Sudhin Dhavalikar and Goa Forward's Vijay Sardesai will both be deputies to the BJP's Pramod Sawant.