Indian National Science Academy fellowship for Prof Sunil Kumar Singh

Indian National Science Academy fellowship for Prof Sunil Kumar Singh

Panaji, Nov 5: Professor Sunil Kumar Singh, Director, CSIR - National Institute of Oceanography (NIO), Goa, has been elected as a Fellow of the Indian National Science Academy (INSA), New Delhi.

The INSA is a one of the three scientific bodies in the country. It elects an individual scientist as its Fellow for his/ her outstanding performance and contributions. Professor Singh has been elected for the prestigious fellowship. The fellowship will be effective from 1st January 2019.
Professor Singh’s present research interests are; Biogeochemistry of Trace Elements and Isotopes (TEIs)in the Indian and Southern Oceans and in the Indian Estuaries; Low temperature elemental and isotope geochemistry; Erosion and weathering studies in the Indian River System; Long-term carbon cycle; Geochronology of carbonaceous shales; Paleo-erosion of the Himalaya: Impact of climate and tectonics; Evolution of atmospheric oxygen and Paleoredox condition of the Proterozoic Oceans using Re-Os and Mo.

Professor Singh has played a highly significant role on studies on low temperature elemental and isotope geochemistry and his researches are reported to have assisted in widening the understanding on the evolution of the Himalayas. His studies have been documented in several peer-reviewed articles; he has over 100 scientific papers to his credit.

He has been honoured with several National Awards and Academy Fellowships including the National Geoscience Award (2012) , Fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences, Eminent Mass spectrometry Award(2014), The Council of Scientific and Industrial Research, the apex agency of the Government of India for scientific research, awarded him the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Science and Technology, one of the highest Indian science awards for his contributions to Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean and Planetary Sciences in 2016, a statement from NIO here said on Monday. (UNI)