Dhritiman wins Living Legend for contribution to Indian Cinema

Dhritiman wins Living Legend for contribution to Indian Cinema

Agency News

Kolkata, Jan 6 :Bengali cinema's most iconic actor Dhritiman Chaterji won the Living Legend award for invaluable contribution to Indian Cinema at 28th Kalakar Awards ceremony held in Science City Auditorium here last night. Hrithik Roshan starrer super 30 and Purbo Poschim Dokkhin Uttor Ashbei by Suchandra Vaaniya won the best film award.

Srijit Mukherjee won Best film maker award for his film Gumnaami. Best film actor award won by Ankush Hazra for Bibaho Obhijaan and best film actress award won by Mrunal Thakur for Super 30 and Rukmini Maitra for Password.

Bengali film actress and MP Nusrat Jahan won Youth Icon award for contribution in Indian Cinema Yeh Teri Galiyan (Zee TV) won best serial and The Kapil Sharma Show (SONY TV) won Best Comedy Show award.

Usha Uthup won 50 Years of Stardom for her Iconic achievement & contribution to Music for 5 Decades and Bickram Ghosh wan Best Music Director award for Basu Poribar.

Achiever award won by playback singer and Union Minister Babul Supriyo for his contribution In The World Of Music Best Rising Star (Jagjit Singh Memorial award) award won by Ankita Bhattacharya (Winner SA RE GA MA PA 2018). Best News Network award won by NEWS 18 Network (National Channel) owned by Mukesh Ambani Kalakar Awards is recognized as one of the leading awards ceremonies of Eastern India.

The brand ‘Kalakar’ is all about a vision and the relentless pursuit towards its success. Kalakar Awards is the most eagerly awaited annual event in the cultural calendar of Eastern India, attended by a host of dignitaries, stars and celebrities and draws a huge attention from the electronic & print media.

It all started off 28 years ago when Sri Ashok Kalanauria came up with a stirring vision. Kolkata, the home to the finest in Cinema ,Television & Entertainment with its very own Tollywood, lacked the institution of annual awards for the most talented & outstanding.

Finally this dream turned into reality on January 01, 1993 when the very 1st Kalakar Awards was hosted at G. D. Birla Sabhaghar. It was a night to remember, with the honoring and felicitating of several artistes for excellence in their work, it wrote a new chapter in the history of Award Ceremonies. This was a stepping stone and a beginning of this exciting journey which gave us a chance to show the people who entertain us, how much we care for them.

Year after year, they have been taking this opportunity to give accolades to not only Tollywood Stars but also Stars from Bollywood, by awarding them the lady statuette.

Continuously, for 28 years in succession – it was time for the Eastern Indian to Honor the legendary world of Cinema, Television & Entertainment by welcoming & Awarding the Artists, the Performers, the 'Kalakars' who have entertained & enthralled people in the celluloid world of fantasy & fusion, giving their thoughts & dream - a New Dimension. The team behind the Kalakar Awards comprises of various professionals, high officials and celebrities from different walks of life, such as public services, police services, banking sector, media sector, business & corporate houses and also from NGO's and cultural organisations.

The award ceremony also witnessed dance performances by Crescendo Dance Company (choreographed by Debraj Ghosal- Debu); musical performances by Sonakshi Kar (SA RE GA MA PA fame), Soumya Chakraborty (Indian Idol fame), Rayan and others. The show was compered by Sweta Tiwari and Isha Sharma. (UNI)