Jayasurya, Soubin share best actor honour, Nimisha best actress

Jayasurya, Soubin share best actor honour, Nimisha best actress


Jayasurya and Soubin Shahir shared best actor honour and Nimisha Sajayan was declared the best actress at the 2018 Kerala State Film Awards, announced by Minister for Culture AK Balan.

‘Kanthan the Love of Colour’ was declared the best film and Shyamaprasad bagged the best director award for the film Oru Nararazcha. Sudani from Nigeria bagged six awards.

Jayasurya won the award for his performance in Captain and Njan Marykuttu and Soubin Shahir for his role in Sudani from Nigeria which bagged the most popular movie award. Nimisha Sajayan was recognised for her role in Chola and Oru Kuprasidha Payyan.

Joju George won the award for best supporting actor in movies Chola and Joseph and Savithri Sreedharan and Sarasa Balussery (for their roles in Sudani from Nigeria.

The best debut director was bagged by Zakariya Mohammed (Sudani from Nigeria) and the best script award was for Muhsin Parari and Zakariya for the same film. Vijay Yesudas won the best singer (male) (Poomuthole) and best singer (female) Shreya Ghoshal (Nirmathalam)

The other awards included music director - Vishal Bharadwaj (Carbon), best lyricist Hari Narayanan (Joseph and Theevandi) and best cinematography KU Mohanan (Carbon).

Renowned director Kumar Sahni was the jury chairman. Directors Sherry Govindan, George Kithu, cinematographer KG Jayan, film critic Vijayakrishnan, editor Biju Sukumaran, music director PJ Ignatius, actors Navya Nair and Mohandas were members.