Broom set to bloom in Delhi again; 60 pc turnout recorded

Broom set to bloom in Delhi again; 60 pc turnout recorded

Agency News

New Delhi, Feb 8: As polling for 70 seats of the Delhi assembly came to a close on Saturday, with 60 per cent voters of the Delhi turning up to perform their democratic duty , exit polls by various television channels indicated that the ruling Aam Aadmi Party is set to return to power in Delhi for a third consecutive terms with a sweeping majority.

Exit polls conducted by different news channels gave thumbs up for the Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi party to form the government, third time in row. In the 2015 Delhi Assembly elections, the voter turnout was recorded at 67.12 percent where AAP registered a landslide victory by winning 67 of 70 seats, while BJP was limited to three seats. The Congress had drawn a blank for first time in national capital elections at that time. According to the Election Commission, the voter turnout might rise as people standing in long queues are still waiting in several booths to cast their votes. There are 1.47 crore voters in the city-state.

The exit polls by Jan ki Baat-Republic predicted between 48 and 61 seats to the ruling party in Delhi , while they are giving 9 to 21 seats to BJP. The Exit polls also predicted 0-1 seat for the Congress party. According to exit poll by Neta-India News, AAP would get 53-57, BJP 11-17 and Congress 0-2. As per the C-Voter ABP News exit poll, AAP will win 49-63 seats in Delhi, while the BJP is predicted to win 5-19 seats and Congress 0-4.

The exit poll by Cicero-TV9 Bharatvarsh says that AAP would secure 54 seats, while BJP would get plus 15 and Congress plus one. According to an exit poll by IPSOS-Times Now, AAP is expected to win 44 seats while the BJP could garner 26 seats. The grand old party might not be able to open their account second consecutive time. On the other hand, an exit poll by Pollstrat-NewsX forecast 50 to 56 seats for AAP and 10 to 14 seats for the saffron party. The exit poll predicted a zero seat for the Congress.

To form the government, the majority mark in the 70-member Assembly is 36. Polling began in the morning on Saturday amid tight security in all 70 constituencies. As the voting commenced, Prime Minister Narendra Modi urged people, especially youth, to come out and vote in record numbers. "Today is the polling day for the Delhi Legislative Assembly...Urging the people of Delhi, especially my young friends, to vote in record numbers," he said in a tweet. A total of 672 candidates are in fray whose fate have now been sealed as the result will be declared on February 11. UNI