New Delhi Assembly seat: a seat of popular Delhi CMs

New Delhi Assembly seat: a seat of popular Delhi CMs

Agency News

New Delhi, Jan 28: All eyes are focused on the prestigious New Delhi Assembly constituency where a triangular contest will be witnessed with Delhi Chief Minister and AAP national convenor Arvind Kejriwal taking on BJP's Delhi unit Yuva Morcha chief Sunil Yadav and Congress' Romesh Sabharwal.

The prestigious constituency, located in the heart of Delhi, has given popular Chief Ministers like Sheila Dikshit and Arvind Kejriwal previously. While a total of 672 candidates are in the fray for the February 8 elections, the maximum -- 28 candidates -- are from the New Delhi Assembly constituency. There are 26 male and two female candidates. Mr Kejriwal has twice won from this seat, defeating three-time chief minister and Congress leader late Sheila Dikshit in 2013. Located in the heart of Lutyen's Delhi, New Delhi constituency comprises President’s Estate, Parliament, Lutyens’ bungalows, colonies of Golf Link, Jor Bagh and Lodhi Road, among others. In the 2013 Delhi Assembly poll, Mr Kejriwal garnered 53.46 per cent of the votes, Dikshit stood second with 22.23 per cent, while on third position was BJP's Vijender Gupta with 21.68 per cent.

Mr Kejriwal became the Chief Minister, but resigned after 49 days. In the next Assembly polls in 2015, Mr Kejriwal won for the second time from the Assembly seat and had 64.34 per cent votes. The AAP national convenor had trounced BJP's Nupur Sharma and Kiran Walia from Congress by a wide margin. The electorate is a mix of bureaucrats and traders, who reside in this upscale constituency.

The constituency has more than 1.44 lakh voters, including 79,047 males and 65,461 females. In 2008, Dikshit romped home from this seat capturing 52.20 per cent votes after defeating BJP's Vijay Jolly who bagged 33.85 per cent votes. In the last Assembly polls in 2015, AAP emerged victorious and had an overwhelming mandate, winning 67 out of 70 Assembly seats. Counting of votes for this year's Delhi Assembly polls will take place on February 11. (UNI)