Office of Profit: AAP cannot force EC to examine petitioner, says Delhi HC

Office of Profit: AAP cannot force EC to examine petitioner, says Delhi HC

The Delhi High Court Justices on Thursday passed an order that the MLAs of Aam Aadmi Party(AAP) cannot force Election Commission(EC) to cross-examine the person who accused them of holding office of profit for their appointment as Parliamentary Secretaries.

The MLAs-- Alka Lamba, Adarsh Shastri, Sanjeev Jha, Rajesh Gupta, Kailash Gahlot, Vijendra Garg, Praveen Kumar, Sharad Kumar, Madan Lal, Shiv Charan Goyal, Sarita Singh, Naresh Yadav, Rajesh Rishi, Anil Kumar, Som Dutt, Avtar Singh, Sukhvir Singh Dala, Manoj Kumar, Nitin Tyagi and Jarnail Singh were allegedly accused of holding offices of profit as they were appointed Parliamentary Secretaries to Minister's in the Delhi Government in March 2015.

Election Commission on January, 19 recommended the disqualification of these 20 AAP MLAs and in September, 2016 the Delhi High Court had ruled against their appointment as Parliamentary Secretaries after hearing their pleas on a daily basis.

After hearing the matter on January 24, the Delhi High Court refused to stay the notification of the Centre disqualifying them but had restrained the poll panel from taking any “precipitate measures” such as announcing dates for the bypolls to fill the vacancies.

But on March 23, the court termed the poll panel’s recommendation “vitiated” and “bad in law” and directed it to hear the issue afresh. (UNI)