First phase of assembly polls in Chhattisgarh gains momentum

First phase of assembly polls in Chhattisgarh gains momentum

Agency News

Raipur, Nov 9: Amid Naxal violence, the first phase of Chhattisgarh assembly elections on 18 seats has gained momentum with candidates of political parties pulling out all their stops to mobilise votes in their favour.

About 24 hours before conclusion of BJP’s election campaign Prime Minister Narendra Modi addressed an election gathering at Jagdalpur whereas Congress President Rahul Gandhi addressed public meeting at Pakhanjore.

Rahul Gandhi addressed public meeting in Khairagarh area of Rajnandgaon district. After addressing public gathering in Dongargarh in the district, Gandhi organised a road show in Rajnandgaon which is considered as bastion of Chief Minister Dr Raman Singh the same evening.

After night halt in Rajnandgaon Rahul Gandhi will address public meeting in Charama area on the last day of campaign tomorrow. Another public meeting of Rahul Gandhi is scheduled at Kondagaon. Subsequently he will attend meeting of party workers at Jagdalpur headquarters in Bastar division. BJP President Amit Shah addressed three public meetings in Kondagaon, Ataria and Khujji on November 4.

Chief Minister Dr Raman Singh held a series of public meetings to campaign in favour of BJP candidates. The party organised two public meetings in constituencies where it considers itself to be weak. Union Minister Smriti Irani addressed two meetings in Mohla Manpur area for BJP. Union Minister of State Ramkripal Yadav, former Chief Minister of Jharkhand Arjun Munda too addressed public meetings. Union Minister Ravishankar Prasad too organised some meetings.

From Congress side, Former Union Minister Subodhkant Sahay, former Union Minister and Tribal Leader Bhakt Charandas, Uttar Pradesh Congress President Raj Babbar, Congress General Secretary Shakti Singh Govil, former Union Minister Pradip Jain Aditya, Mahila Congress National President Sushmita Dev held several meetings whereas former Union Minister Manish Tiwari, party’s communication head chief Randeep Singh Surjewala and spokesman Abhishek Singhvi too have come here to formulate election strategy. (UNI)