ICICI bank launches ‘iBox’, self-service delivery facility

ICICI bank launches ‘iBox’, self-service delivery facility

Agency News

New Delhi, Jan 29: ICICI Bank on Wednesday announced the launch of a unique self-service delivery facility, enabling its customers to collect their deliverables such as debit card, credit card, cheque book and returned-cheques, from a branch close to their home or office, in a hassle free manner, anytime any day.

The bank has introduced the facility, called ‘iBox’, at more than 50 branches in 17 cities across the country. This facility is especially useful for customers who are not available at home to receive their package during working hours.

The ‘iBox’ terminals have been stationed outside the premises of the Bank’s branches which are accessible beyond the official hours. It is equipped with an OTP based authentication system for enhanced security and can be accessed by customers using their registered mobile number 24X7, on all days including holidays.

The customer can avail of this first-of-its-kind facility if the branch, where they want to take delivery of the package containing their banking deliverable, houses an ‘iBox’ terminal. The fully automated process informs the customer of the current status of their package via an SMS at every stage-- from dispatch to delivery.

Once the package arrives in the ‘iBox’ terminal, an SMS notification is sent to the customer, which carries the GPS location of the ‘iBox’, an OTP and a QR code. The customer has to then visit the ‘iBox’, enter his/her registered mobile number and submit the OTP or show the QR code to open the box and access the package.

The deliverable stays in the ‘iBox’ for seven days during which the customer can collect at any time of the day. The iBox therefore, brings in more flexibility for the customers and eliminates the need to visit the branch during busy working hours.

The branches which presently house the iBox terminals are located in close proximity to important business centres in major Indian cities including Delhi NCR, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Pune, Navi Mumbai, Surat, Jaipur, Indore, Bhopal, Lucknow, Nagpur, Amritsar, Ludhiana and Panchkula. (UNI)