Kiran Mazumdar-Shaw conferred with Aussies civilian award

Kiran Mazumdar-Shaw conferred with Aussies civilian award

Agency News

New Delhi, Jan 18: Eminent billionaire entrepreneur Kiran Mazumdar-Shaw has been conferred with the Australia's highest civilian award Honorary Member within the Order of Australia in the General Division by Australia’s High Commissioner to India Harinder Sidhu.

“The Australian Government has chosen to bestow this honour on Dr Kiran Mazumdar Shaw for her immense contribution in advancing Australia's bilateral relationship with India,” said Ms Sidhu, according to an announcement by the Australian High Commission here on Saturday. The ceremony held on Friday was attended by representatives from Indian and Australian business, the diplomatic corps, and family, friends and peers of Dr Mazumdar-Shaw.

An alumnus of Federation University Australia, Dr Mazumdar-Shaw is the founder of Biocon – one of India’s largest bio-pharmaceutical companies. She contributes immensely to promoting women in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) through the joint research programs developed between Biocon and Deakin University, Australia, as part of her deep and long-standing commitment to gender equality, the release said. Dr Mazumdar-Shaw - an Australian Global Alumni Ambassador - is also recognised for her sustained and significant contribution to industry academia collaboration between Australia and India.

Speaking at the event Ms Sidhu said: “Dr Mazumdar-Shaw is a tireless champion of the commercial, educational, and people-to-people links between our two countries, and this award recognises her commitment to progressing the Australia-India partnership.” Honorary appointments in the Order of Australia are made to foreign nationals who have made an outstanding contribution to Australia or humanity at large. Dr Mazumdar-Shaw is the fourth Indian citizen to be awarded Australia’s highest civilian honour. This follows the conferment of Superstar batsman Sachin Tendulkar in 2012, former Attorney General Sorabjee in 2006 and Mother Teresa in 1982. (UNI)