Fagu Chauhan sworn as new Bihar Governor

Fagu Chauhan sworn as new Bihar Governor

Agency News

Patna, Jul 29: Newly appointed Bihar Governor Fagu Chauhan was administered the oath of office by Patna High Court Chief Justice Amreshwar Pratap Sahi at a simple ceremony at Raj Bhawan here today.

Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, his deputy Sushil Kumar Modi, members of the council of ministers, several MLAs, MLCs and top civil and police authorities graced the occasion.

BJP leader Fagu Chauhan after his appointment as 40th Governor had resigned as MLA from the Uttar Pradesh Assembly on Friday.

A six-time MLA, Mr Chauhan (71) had first won the assembly election from Ghosi in 1985 on the symbol of the former prime minister Charan Singh-led Dalit Mazdoor Kisan Party (DMKP).

Mr Chauhan also won the assembly elections in 1996 and 2002 on the BJP symbol from Ghosi seat in Mau district.

Mr Chauhan won for the fifth time in May 2007 on the BSP symbol and later joined the BJP and won the assembly election for the sixth time from the same seat in March 2017. (UNI)