Stage set for final phase LS polls in Assam

Stage set for final phase LS polls in Assam

Agency News

Polling official collects EVMs and other election material for 3rd phase of the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, at distribution centre at Miangoue in Kamrup district, in Assam, on Monday.UNI PHOTO
Guwahati, Apr 22(UNI) The third and final phase of Lok Sabha election for four seats in Assam will be held tomorrow, where fate of 54 candidates will be decided by over 74 lakh voters.
Polling will be held in 9577 polling stations in the four constituencies of Guwahati, Kokrajhar, Barpeta and Dhubri.
As many as 200 companies of security personnel have been deployed for the third phase, with minimum one constable in every polling station.
The number of polling personnel deployed for the final phase is 38,308, along with 436 micro observers, five general observers, four expenditure observers and three police observers.
Altogether 125 Flying Squad Teams, 112 Static Surveillance Teams and 83 Video Surveillance Teams have been assigned for the phase.
There will be 147 all-women polling stations, 125 model polling stations and 524 remote polling stations in the third phase.
The total electorate is 74,77,062, including 36,61,570 and 157 third gender.
Among the candidates are two sitting MPs, including perfume baron Maulana Badruddin Ajmal, a state Cabinet minister and an incumbent MLA.
There are nine women contenders, the highest number of women candidates in fray in a single phase in the three-phased polls in the state.
Ajmal, who is also the president of All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF), is seeking re-election from Dhubri constituency.
The other sitting MP seeking a second consecutive term is Naba Sarania, once again as an Independent candidate from Kokrajhar seat.
Sarania is pitted against Pramila Rani Brahma of Bodoland People's Front (BPF), who is also the lone woman minister in the state.
Kokrajhar constituency also has in the race former MP UG Brahma of United People's Party (Liberal), Congress' Sabda Rabha and CPI (M) candidate Biraj Deka, among others.
For Barpeta seat, Congress has fielded its sitting MLA Abdul Khaleque, while AIUDF decided to drop it's incumbent Barpeta MP and Ajmal's younger brother Sirajuddin Ajmal and gave the party ticket to Rafiqul Islam.
Asom Gana Parishad (AGP), the other partner in the BJP-BPF state government, has fielded its candidates Kumar Deepak Das and Jawed Islam from Barpeta and Dhubri respectively.
The BJP is contesting only the Gauhati constituency in the final phase and has nominated ex-Guwahati mayor Queen Oja as its candidate.
Congress has also fielded a woman nominee from Gauhati by selecting Bobbeeta Sharma.
Among other parties that have fielded their candidates for the third phase are Trinamool Congress, SUCI, Voters Party of India and 16 Independents.