Polling begins in five LS seats in Assam

Polling begins in five LS seats in Assam

Agency News

Guwahati, Apr 11: Polling for five Lok Sabha constituencies in Assam in first phase of the three-phase General Election in the state began this morning. Voting got underway at 7am under a clear weather in most parts. Altogether 41 candidates, including two women, are in fray for Lakhimpur, Tezpur, Kaliabor, Jorhat and Dibrugarh seats, spread in the eastern and northern parts of the state. Polling is being conducted at 9574 polling stations, of which 20 have been identified as in remote locations.

While 201 all-women polling stations have been set up, there are 225 model polling stations. Altogether 180 companies of security forces have been deployed, and minimum one constable attached to every polling station. The fate of three sitting members of Parliament, Gaurav Gogoi of Congress (Kalibaor), Rameswar Teli of BJP (Dibrugarh) and Pradan Boruah of BJP (Lakhimpur) will get sealed in the EVMs.
Former Union Minister Pawan Singh Ghatowar of Congress is also in the poll battle from Dibrugarh.

As many as 42126 polling personnel have been engaged for first phase poll and 614 micro observers appointed. Total of 151 flying squads are keeping vigil, along with 137 static surveillance teams and 118 video surveillance teams. The total elector strength is 7603458, of which 3737970 are female and 154 are of third gender. The BJP had won four of the seats in 2014 General Elections, while one was bagged by Congress. (UNI)