45 nominations filed for first phase LS polls in Assam

45 nominations filed for first phase LS polls in Assam

Agency News

Guwahati, Mar 25 : The nominations for first phase of Lok Sabha election for five seats in Assam closed today, with total 45 candidates filing their papers.

The nomination process, which was lean in the initial days since the notification was issued, picked up on the final day with 37 papers submitted on the final day.

The highest number of nominations were filed for Lakhimpur constituency with 12 candidates submitting their papers.

Among the heavy weight candidates who filed their nominations today was state minister Tapan Gogoi, who submitted his papers before the returning officer at Jorhat for the same Lok Sabha constituency for the ruling BJP party.

He was accompanied by a host of BJP leaders, including Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal and Cabinet minister Dr Himanta Biswa Sharma.

Another state minister in the fray, Pallab Lochan Das, also filed his nomination from Tezpur

constituency, accompanied by top party leaders.

Incumbent Lakhimpur MP Pradan Baruah of BJP also submitted his nomination on the last day today.

Former Union minister Paban Singh Ghatowar of Congress submitted his nomination for Dibrugarh seat, while ex-IAS officer MGVK Bhanu submitted his nomination for Tezpur on Congress ticket.

In Kaliabor constituency, Mani Madhab Mahanta, the Asom Gana Parishad candidate of the ruling BJP-led coalition in the state, filed his nomination.

Candidates of Trinamool Congress, National People's Party and a number of Independents also filed their nominations.

The scrutiny of the nominations will be undertaken tomorrow and the last date for withdrawal of nomination is March 28.