BJP drops another sitting MP in Assam

BJP drops another sitting MP in Assam

Agency News

Guwahati, Mar 23: The Asom Gana Parishad (AGP), which is contesting the Lok Sabha election in coalition with BJP and BPF in Assam, has announced its first candidate, while the BJP named its ninth candidate for the state.

The AGP, which will be contesting three seats, named Mani Madhab Mahanta as its candidate for Kaliabor constituency which goes to the polls in the first phase on April 11.

Mahanta, who recently left All Assam Students Union to join AGP, is the brother of state Cabinet minister and AGP working president Keshab Mahanta. Meanwhile, the BJP has named MoS in the state ministry Pallab Lochan Das as its candidate for Tezpur, dropping sitting MP RP Sharma.

Under the seat sharing arrangements between the coalition partners, BJP will be contesting 10 seats, AGP in three seats and Bodoland People's Front (BPF) in one seat.

The state will go to the polls for the 14 seats on April 11, 18 and 23.UNI