Bijoya Chakraborty
Bijoya Chakraborty

BJP drops 3 sitting MPs in first list for Assam

Agency News

Guwahati, Mar 21: The ruling BJP today named candidates for eight constituencies for Assam, dropping three sitting MPs and retaining two others in the first list for the state.

Veteran party leaders and sitting MP Bijoya Chakraborty, who is also a former Union minister, and Ramen Deka were dropped from Gauhati and Mangaldai constituencies respectively. Queen Ojha and youth leader Dilip Saikia were given party tickets for Gauhati and Mangaldai respectively.

The third incumbent MP who has been denied party ticket in the first list is Kamakhya Prasad Tassa from Jorhat constituency. State Cabinet minister Tapan Gogoi has been named for Jorhat. Rameswar Teli and Pradan Baruah have been retained as party candidates for Dibrugarh and Lakhimpur seats respectively.

The other three candidates named for the state in the first list include Kripanath Mallah, who is the deputy speaker in the state legislative assembly, from Karimganj. Dr Rajdeep Roy has been given the party ticket from Silchar, while Haresingh Bey has been named from Autonomous Districts.

Out of the eight seats announced, BJP had won in five seats in 2014 General Elections. The party had won total seven out of 14 seats in Assam in 2014. (UNI)