Election Commission 
Election Commission 
Arunachal Pradesh

Election to lone Rajya Sabha seat in Arunachal on June 19

Agency News

Itanagar, June 2 : Election to the lone Rajya Sabha seat in Arunachal Pradesh will be held on June 19 , and notification in this regard has been issued by the Election Commission, a senior poll panel official said on Tuesday.

The term of office of the incumbent Rajya Sabha member Mukut Mithi ends on June 23. According to a statement issued by Arunachal Pradesh Joint Chief Electoral Officer D J Bhattacharjee on Tuesday, the last day of filing nominations is June 9, and scrutiny of the papers will be done on June 10. The last date for the withdrawal of candidature is June 12 while June 22 has been fixed as the date before which the election shall be completed, he said.

To conduct the election, State Legislative Assembly Secretary Kago Habung has been appointed as Returning Officer (RO) and Joint Secretary Agaab Mossang as Assistant Returning Officer (ARO) by the EC, Bhattacharjee said. He said that all necessary preparations have been made for the smooth conduct of the biennial election. (UNI)