BJP sweeps Arunachal Pradesh, wins 41 Assembly seats
Arunachal Pradesh

BJP sweeps Arunachal Pradesh, wins 41 Assembly seats

Agency News

Itanagar, May 25 : The BJP put up an impressive show in the north-eastern state of Arunachal Pradesh, winning 41 seats including three uncontested in the 60-member Assembly house.

BJP candidate and Chief Minister Pema Khandu won from Mukto assembly seat. He won by a margin of 2,619 votes by defeating Congress’ Thupten Kunphen while BJP nominee and Deputy Chief Minister Chowna Mein won from Chowkham Assembly seat by a margin of 7,291 votes by defeating his rival Congress candidate Khunang Kri.

BJP nominee Goruk Pordung won from Bameng Assembly constituency by a margin of 393 votes. He defeated National People’s Party (NPP) candidate and former Home Minister Kumar Waii.BJP candidate Taniya Soki won Daporijo seat by 122 votes, defeating JD (U) nominee Dikto Yekar while its another candidate Rode Bui won from Dumporijo seat by a margin of 978 votes.

The Janta Dal (United), a constituent member of the BJP led NDA, bagged seven Assembly seats. Techi Kaso from JD(U) won Itanagar Assembly constituency by a margin of 302 votes by defeating BJP nominee Kipa Babu. The National People’s Party (NPP) won five Assembly seats.

Among the prominent winners from NPP are Tirong Aboh, who was killed in an ambush by underground militants earlier this week, retained the Khonsa West Assembly seat by 1,055 votes while Mutchu Mithi won from Roing by defeating his rival BJP candidate Laeta Umbrey by 400 votes.

NPP nominee Tarin Dakpe won Raga seat by defeating PPA candidate Nido Pavitra by a margin of 120 votes. Congress could not even touch the double digit figure so far. The party won only four seats. Former chief minister Nabam Tuki won from Sagalee Assembly seat by 1,321 votes, Ninong Ering from Pasighat West by 571 votes, Wanglin Lowangdong from Borduria Bogapani seat by 97 votes and Lombo Tayeng from Mebo by 372 votes.

Arunachal Pradesh Congress unit president Takam Sanjoy tasted defeat at the hands of BJP nominee Jummum Ete Deori. The BJP candidate won the seat by a margin of 5,493 votes. People’s Party of Arunachal (PPA), the only regional party of the state, won in one assembly seats. Kardo Nyigyor has registered victory from Likabali by a margin of 178 votes.

Two Independent candidates have won from two assembly seats including Somlung Mossang, who won from Bordumsa Diyun Assembly seat by a margin of 2,379 votes by defeating BJP’s Jawra Maio. The Janata Dal (Secular), newly entrant in the fray, which fielded candidates in 12 seats failed to open its account.Former chief minister and JDU nominee Gegong Apang tasted defeat at the hands of BJP nominee Alo Libang. The BJP candidate won by 1,609 votes.In 2014 assembly polls, BJP had bagged 11 seats, Congress 42, PPA five and Independents two. UNI