Lotus blooms in AP; SKM emerge as a single largest party in Sikkim
Arunachal Pradesh

Lotus blooms in AP; SKM emerge as a single largest party in Sikkim

Agency News

Guwahati, May 24: Stage is all set for the formation of BJP government in Arunachal Pradesh with party winning 33 seats and leading in two others in the 60 member Assembly house.

In another northeastern state, Sikkim is heading for a change in guard. In neck to neck fight Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM) won 17 seats and edged past ruling Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF) which won 15 seats in 32 member assembly house.

Sikkim Chief Minister Pawan Chamling, who has been ruling the state since 1994, is the longest serving chief minister in the country. He won from Poklok-Kamrang Assembly seat. Chamling defeated his nearest SKM rival Kharka Bahadur Rai by 2,899 votes.

Coming back to frontier state, Arunachal Pradesh, it may be mentioned here that BJP had already won 3 seats uncontested in the state before a single ballot was cast. The poll campaign was also marred by violent by insurgent group.
Just a day ahead of counting National People’s Party (NPP) candidate and its sitting MLA from the Khonsa West Assembly seat Tirong Aboh, was killed in an ambush by underground militants. The slain NPP candidate won the seat by a margin of 1055 votes by defeating BJP candidate Phawang Lowang. UNI

Experts feel that the credit of reviving BSP should go to SP chief Akhilesh Yadav, however, they also feel that this may have its own consequences in the long term.
'Name of Akhilesh Yadav will be written in history for reviving a party which had gone down to zero seats in Lok Sabha polls. Also, there is a practical problem in the gathbandhan, when you analyse the results closely you will find out that seats which had majority of Dalits and Muslims were easily won. However, where Yadavs also played an important role, such seats swinged towards BJP. This makes it somewhat clear that the Yadavs have somewhat deserted their own party in the 2019 Lok Sabha Polls,' a senior SP leader told UNI here on Friday after analysing the results.
The Samajwadi Party which was contesting on 37 seats as per their pre-poll understanding with BSP, won five seats of Azamgarh from where Akhilesh himself was contesting, Mainpuri from where Mulayam Singh Yadav was contesting, Moradabad from where ST Hasan was contesting, Rampur from where Azam Khan was contesting and Sambhal from where Shafiq Ur Rehman Barq was contesting. However the Bahujan Samaj Party candidates won from a total of 10 Lok Sabha seats including Ambedkar Nagar, Amroha, Bijnor, Ghazipur, Ghosi, Lalganj, Nagina, Saharanpur, Shrawasti and Jaunpur parliamentary seats.

Though many people believed that the alliance between SP and BSP will stop the BJP juggernaut but unfortunately it could not yield the desired results. The bonhomie between Samajwadi Party and Bahujan Samaj Party might have surprised many but it was not the first time the two parties had joined hands to spot BJP’s march in the Hindi heartland. However, the SP-BSP of 1993 could not last much due to growing political differences between Mulayam and Mayawati and both the parties went separate ways in 1995.

Also, before the 2017 state Assembly elections, sources suggest that BSP chief was not ready to forge any alliance with the SP as Mulayam Singh Yadav and Shivpal Yadav was actively involved in Samajwadi Party then. However when Akhilesh Yadav took over as the national president, things started to change and the infamous ‘Guest House Incident’ was also laid to rest by the BSP chief.

Finally after a successful experiment in the Gorakhpur and Kairana by-elections, both the parties have now decided to come together and forge an alliance ahead of 2019 Lok Sabha elections.