Re-polling underway in 19 polling booths in Arunachal
Arunachal Pradesh

Re-polling underway in 19 polling booths in Arunachal

Agency News

Itanagar, Apr 20: Re-polling for the simultaneous Assembly and Lok Sabha polls is currently underway at 19 polling stations in Arunachal Pradesh, and an estimated 49.81 per cent turnout recorded till 1000 hrs.
The re-polling which began at 0600 hrs this morning at 19 polling stations spread across eight districts of the state, will continue till 1400 hrs.
“Voter turnout recorded till 1000 hrs is 49.81 per cent,” deputy chief electoral officer (CEO) Liken Koyu told UNI.
Mr Koyu said that there was no report of any malfunctioning of the EVMs, and the polling has been peaceful by and large so far.
A total of over 8000 electorate are eligible to exercise their franchise.
In Arunachal West parliamentary seat, 14-Nachiban polling station under Bomdila Assembly constituency re-polling is underway while in Bameng and Chayangtajo Assembly constituencies under East Kameng district, re-polling is being held in 37-Jomoh, 4-Yangfo, 5-Tagampu and 24-Pipu polling stations respectively.
In Yachuli Assembly constituency under Lower Subansiri district, 2-Deed and 8-Pania polling stations while in Daporijo and Dumporijo Assembly constituencies under Upper Subansiri district in 21-Bayor, 42-Leya, 47-Rebi and 5-Nasi voting is underway.
In Liromoba and Likabali Assembly constituencies under West Siang district, re-polling is underway in 14-Kamki Dego and 20-Sogum polling stations.
In Arunachal East parliamentary seat, 34-Messing polling station under Pangin Assembly seat in Siang district while in Namsai Assembly constituency in 27-Wagunpather, 29-Nongtaw Khamti and 30-Wingseng Nongtaw are witnessing re-polling.
The others where polling is underway are—in Kanubari and Longding-Pumao Assembly constituencies under Longding district, two polling stations, 9-Longhua and 4-Longkhao.
Arunachal Pradesh recorded 77.38 per cent turnout, where simultaneous Assembly and Lok Sabha elections held on April 11. The turnout will increase after the re-polling.
It may be mentioned that in 2014 elections, Arunachal Pradesh recorded around 77 per cent turnout.
The result of the polls will be announced on May 23.