Salman Rushdie, Margaret Atwood on Booker Prize list
Art & Culture

Salman Rushdie, Margaret Atwood on Booker Prize list

Agency News

Booker Prize winners Salman Rushdie and Margaret Atwood are chosen among the list of 13 authors for the coveted Booker Prize 2019.

While Salman Rushdie’s latest novel, “Quichotte” was included, Margaret Atwood was nominated for her latest novel, “The Testaments”. Earlier, Rushdie had won Booker in 1981 for “Midnight’s Children,” and Atwood won in 2000 for “The Blind Assassin”.

Six finalists will be announced September 3, with the winner revealed October 14.The eight women and five men on the list announced on Wednesday include Britain’s Max Porter for “Lanny”; Nigerian-British writer Oyinkan Braithwaite for “My Sister, the Serial Killer”; British-Turkish author Elif Shafak for “10 Minutes 38 Seconds in This Strange World”; and Lucy Ellmann, the only American finalist, for “Ducks, Newburyport.”

Founded in 1969, the 50,000-pound ($67,000) prize is open to English-language authors from around the world.

The following are the longlist of authors and books considering for 2019 Booker Prize:

Margaret Atwood (Canada), The Testaments (Vintage, Chatto & Windus)

Kevin Barry (Ireland), Night Boat to Tangier (Canongate Books)

Oyinkan Braithwaite (UK/Nigeria), My Sister, The Serial Killer (Atlantic Books)

Lucy Ellmann (USA/UK), Ducks, Newburyport (Galley Beggar Press)

Bernardine Evaristo (UK), Girl, Woman, Other (Hamish Hamilton)

John Lanchester (UK), The Wall (Faber & Faber)

Deborah Levy (UK), The Man Who Saw Everything (Hamish Hamilton)

Valeria Luiselli (Mexico/Italy), Lost Children Archive (4th Estate)

Chigozie Obioma (Nigeria), An Orchestra of Minorities (Little Brown)

Max Porter (UK), Lanny (Faber & Faber)

Salman Rushdie (UK/India), Quichotte (Jonathan Cape)

Elif Shafak (UK/Turkey), 10 Minutes 38 Seconds in This Strange World (Viking)

Jeanette Winterson (UK), Frankissstein (Jonathan Cape)