LS Polls: Kuppam, Pulivendula, the bastions of TDP, YSRCP
Andhra Pradesh

LS Polls: Kuppam, Pulivendula, the bastions of TDP, YSRCP

Agency News

Vijayawada, Mar 28 : The Telugu Desam party (TDP) has never lost election in Kuppam Assembly constituency in Chittoor, and the same time, the TDP has never won election in Pulivendula Assembly constituency, a bastion of YSR family in Kadapa district, since 1983.

TDP candidate was elected from Kuppam constituency in 1983 after the inception of TDP. Since 1989, Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister and TDP national president N Chandrababu Naidu is being elected from Kuppam constituency consecutively.

Mr Naidu has been elected to the Assembly from Kuppam constituency for six times successively since 1989. Kuppam Assembly segment has become a fortress to the TDP. Mr Naidu is contesting from the constituency for the 7th time now.

Naidu defeated his nearest YSRCP rival Chandrmouli by a huge margin of 47,121 votes in 2014 election. The Chief Minister’s election victory in Kuppam constituency now is almost certain and the election is a cakewalk to him, TDP sources said.

The Pulivendula Assembly constituency is a bastion to the former Chief Minister late Y S Rajasekhar Reddy’s family since 1983. Assembly elections were held in the constituency for the 16 times of which the Congress won 13 times. For the last 8 years, the constituency is a stronghold for the YSRCP. Significantly, the Telugu Desam party has never won election here since its inception 1983. In 2014 election, Jagan Mohan Reddy won by highest majority of 75,243 votes over the TDP candidate.
By-election was held for Pulivendula Assembly constituency with the death of the then Chief Minister Y S Rajasekahr Reddy in helicopter crash in 2009. Reddy’s wife Y S Vijaya Lakshmi was elected unopposed. She resigned to MLA post in 2011 and in the by-election, she was elected again.

Former Chief Minister Y S Rajasekhar Reddy was elected from Pulivendula constituency for six times, his brother Y S Vivekananda Reddy was elected for two times. The Pulivendula has been electing the YSR family members for the last three decades successively. The Telugu Desam party has never won election in YSR’s stronghold Pulivendula constituency and the Congress/YSRCPs have never won election in the TDP’s bastion Kuppam since 1983. (UNI)