Andhra Pradesh

Naidu finalizes up to 120 TDP candidates

Agency News

Amaravati, Mar 12 : Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister and Telugu Desam Party National President N Chandrababu Naidu has finalized the names of up to 120 candidates to contest the April 11 Assembly election.

Of the 120 candidates, Mr Naidu is expected to finalize 18 names on Tuesday.

TDP sources here said that the Chief Minister had so far finalized up to 120 names of the candidates to contest the Assembly. He is working on 18 constituencies and would finalize their names by midnight today, sources added. Large number of leaders, who are aspiring TDP tickets to contest the Assembly, are thronging to the Chief Minister’s river front residence at Undavalli near here. Mr Naidu is speaking with some of them.

The TDP have set up three coordination committees led by Finance Minister Yanamala Ramakrishnudu, MP Y Sujana Chowdary and General secretary Varla Ramaiah and they are eliciting opinions from leaders of various Assembly constituencies to suggest their names to high command. The TDP sources said that Mr Naidu focussed on the problematic Assembly constituencies Kovvuru and Chintalapudi as tough competition prevailed among the TDP leaders for the seats. He would announce all the candidates officially on March 14, the sources added.

The sources also said that the Chief Minister asked Kurnool MP Butta Renuka to meet him. The TDP is likely to field former Union minister Kotla Surya Prakash Reddy from Kurnool Lok Sabha constituency. Mr.Naidu would pacify Butta Renuka, who was elected on YSRCP ticket and later joined the TDP, sources informed. Sources said that at least five ministers are willing to contest the Lok Sabha and the Chief Minister is considering the issue. The TDP politburo meeting will be held on the evening of March 13 and on the same day the manifesto of the party would be released. Interestingly, some of the TDP leaders have started campaigning in their respective constituencies.

Meanwhile, opposition YSRCP president Y S Jagan Mohan Reddy is examining the list of candidates to finalize their names. The process of selecting candidates is being carried out in his Lotus Pond residence in Hyderabad. Janasena Party President K Pawan Kalyan had a meeting with CPI State Secretary K Ramakrishna and CPI(M) State Secretary P Madhu to come to a conclusion on seat sharing. The Janasena had already announced its candidates for Amalapuram and Rajahamundry Lok Sabha Constituencies. (UNI)