Cong to contest alone in 2019 Assembly election in AP : Chandy
Andhra Pradesh

Cong to contest alone in 2019 Assembly election in AP : Chandy

Agency News

Congress Party Andhra Pradesh affairs incharge Oommen Chandy made it clear that the party would contest alone in the 2019 Assembly election in the state and ruled out of having any truck with YSRCP or Jana Sena party.

Addressing party working meeting at Penamaluru, near here on Monday, he said that ''the Congress party did not need any alliance with any party and it has enough strength to contest alone''.

The activists of the party is a huge strength, he said and exhorted them to strive hard to strengthen the Congress in AP. "There is a need to strengthen the Congress in AP from booth level to Parliament constituency level", Mr Chandy said, alleging that there was a malicious campaign, that the Congress is so weak in the state and it could not win seats, was launched by the ruling TDP.

He opined that bifurcation is not a reason alone for the debacle in the 2014 election for the Congress. The TDP and YSRCP had made a number of promises to the people in the 2014 election and the two parties lured the voters. However, the Congress Party did not make any such hollow promises to the people though it lost in the hustings.

The Senior Congress leader claimed that the people of the state is in favour of the Congress party and asked the activists to launch door-to-door campaign. He claimed "If Party President Rahul Gandhi becomes Prime Minister he will accord Special Category Status (SCS) and fullfil other Re-organisatioan Act provisions.

Taking a dig at Prime Minister Narendra Modi, he said that people of country were disenchanted with the alleged misrule of BJP-led NDA government at the Centre and the GST caused of losing employement of lakhs of people.

APCC President N Raghuveera Reddy exhorted party activists to work hard aiming for the victory in the 2019 elections. Former Union Minister Pallam Raju said that the wave in the country is in favour for Mr Gandhi. Senior leaders including Chinta Mohan, MP K V P Ramachandra Rao, Kasu V Krishna Reddy. AICC Secretaries Mastan Valli and Chrostpher Thilak were among those who are present. (UNI)