May 22, 2018, 11:39 am IST
News Updates

JDS legislators elect H D Kumaraswamy as their leader

JDS legislators elect H D Kumaraswamy as their leader

 May 16, 2018

The Janata Dal (Secular) MLAs on Wednesday elected former Karnataka Chief Minister and State President H D Kumaraswamy as Legislative Party leader.

A decision to this effect was taken at a meeting of newly elected JD(S) legislators, which included one legislator who has won on Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) ticket. JD(S) has won 38 seats in the election held on May 12 after counting of poll was completed yesterday.

JDS, which got a shot in the arms with Congress with 78 MLAs extending its support to form the government, has already staked the claim. Mr Kumaraswamy, along with Incharge Chief Minister Siddaramaiah, senior Congress leaders Gulab Nabi Azad, Ashok Ghelot among others met Governor Vajubai Vala and presented the support letter and appealed to him to invite him to form the government since he has sufficient number needed. (UNI)

More News

Pick of the Day

About us

In the surfeit of information that inundates us relentlessly, now (24 x 7 so to speak), it is difficult to separate the chaff from the grain. With so much chaff getting into the public domain, the real news happening on the ground becomes hard to make out. We are embarking on this portal in an effort to clarify things and provide focus on the real d ...

Read more


Enter email address to subscribe the newsletter

Copyright © 2017 PENNEWS. All Rights Reserved | Designed by : Tedsys